CMC Libraries: History & Anthropology: Collections

EBSCO Discovery

U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window Find comprehensive coverage of the most-studied topics, from the arrival of Vikings in North America 1,000 years ago to Vietnam, Watergate and the wars in Afghanistan and Iraq.
- This link opens in a new window
World History in Context This link opens in a new window Reaches back to the ancient world and forward to today’s headlines. Provides an overview of world history that covers the most-studied events, periods, cultures, civilizations, religions, conflicts, wars, ideologies, cultural movements, and people.
- This link opens in a new window
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window Includes full text for 150 leading history periodicals and features more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias, and non-fiction books.
- This link opens in a new window
American Indian Experience This link opens in a new window Illuminates the histories and contemporary cultures of the Native peoples of North America.

Denver Public Library Digital Collections This link opens in a new window Contains a selection of photographs, maps, broadsides, architectural drawings and other documents from the collections of the Western History/Genealogy Department chronicling the people, places, and events that shaped the settlement and growth of the Western United States. The work of many outstanding photographers is represented and the collection includes images of Native Americans, pioneers, railroads, mining, Denver and Colorado towns, Buffalo Bill’s Wild West Show, the 10th Mountain Division ski troops and many more.
Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window DPLA provides open access to photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more. The cultural institutions participating in DPLA represent the richness and diversity of America itself, from the smallest local history museum to our nation’s largest cultural institutions.
Library of Congress Digital Collections This link opens in a new window Provides open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music.

Colorado’s Historic Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window Includes more than 600,000 digitized pages, representing 160+ individual newspaper titles published in Colorado from 1859 to 1923. Due to copyright restrictions, CHNC does not generally include newspapers published after 1923.
Hispanic Life in America This link opens in a new window Hispanic Life in America focuses on the experience and impact of Hispanic Americans as recorded by the news media, covering the early 18th century to the present day, sourced from more than 17,000 publications, including 700 Spanish-language newspapers and periodicals.
- This link opens in a new window
Black Life in America This link opens in a new window It highlights the experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media, 1704 to today. Black Life in America offers coverage of the African American experience from the early 18th century to the present day, sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications.
- This link opens in a new window

Biography Reference Center This link opens in a new window Provides thousands of biographies. In addition to keyword search, users can locate biographies by subject occupation, activity, nationality, gender, birthplace and more.
- This link opens in a new window
Biography In Context This link opens in a new window Includes more than 600,000 biographies on more than 500,000 people and integrates video, audio, podcasts, primary sources, and images.
- This link opens in a new window

MyHeritage This link opens in a new window MyHeritage is one of the largest, most internationally diverse genealogy databases. It provides access to billions of historical documents, millions of historical photos and other resources in thousands of databases that span the past five centuries.
- This link opens in a new window