CMC Libraries: English & Communication: Collections

EBSCO Discovery

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Offers in-depth, unbiased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on a wide range of topics.Each report is investigated and written by a seasoned journalist, professionally fact-checked, and footnoted to facilitate further research. Reports date back to 1923.
- This link opens in a new window
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window Ties together sources to present a rich analysis of issues: social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural, and headlines in world hot spots.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window Covers today’s hottest social issues presenting each side of a topic.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window Contains resources that present multiple sides of an issue. Provides more than 370 topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument), and counterpoint (opposing argument). Each topic features a Guide to Critical Analysis which helps the reader evaluate the controversy.

ProCon.org ProCon.org is the country’s leading source for information and research on all sides of the controversial issues of the day.

Statista This link opens in a new window Aggregates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources, including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases.

OverDrive Magazines Overdrive collection of magazines includes over 3,000 titles in more than 15 languages. It could also be used for the advertisement analysis assignment.

Britannica ImageQuest This link opens in a new window Offers nearly 3 million images rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use and are perfect for creating exciting and visually engaging projects and presentations.