CMC Libraries: Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Resources: MLK Resources

This Month we Remember Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

MARTIN LUTHER KING, JR. APRIL 1967

Burton Berinsky / Omni-Photo Communications, Inc. / Universal Images Group

Courtesy: Britannica ImageQuest

Library Resources

Biography In Context This link opens in a new window Includes more than 600,000 biographies on more than 500,000 people and integrates video, audio, podcasts, primary sources, and images.
- This link opens in a new window

Martin Luther King Jr. Day Books and More | Hoopla
Browse and borrow from Hoopla's collection of eBooks, eAudiobooks, movies, comics, and more!
Martin Luther King, Jr. Books | OverDrive
Browse and borrow OverDrive/Libby's collection of eBooks and eAudiobooks on the prolific civil rights leader.

BBC Face to Face | Martin Luther King, Jr. Interview (1961)
First transmitted in 1961, Martin Luther King talks about his childhood experiences and the incidents that led to the Montgomery bus boycott. These events shaped King's life and led to him becoming a national figurehead and civil rights leader.
Listen to Dr. King's Speeches
30 of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.'s prominent speeches and sermons on audio & video.
The March on Washington in Photographs | US National Archives
Compilation of photographs from the United States National Archives collection regarding the march on Washington in 1963.
MLK Clip Reel | US National Archives
Nine short stories on Martin Luther King, Jr., are packaged for February’s Black History Month. Stories include King holiday; MLK/wreath-laying; Jackson/ MLK; king/civil rights; Reagan/kids; MLK bust/ capitol; Andy Young reflects; MLK celebration/ Atlanta; MLK celebration/ Washington, D.C.

The Martin Luther King, Jr., Research Institute
Building upon the achievements of Stanford University's Martin Luther King, Jr. Papers Project, the King Institute supports a broad range of educational activities illuminating Dr. King's life and the movements he inspired.
National Center for Civil and Human Rights
The National Center for Civil and Human Rights, which opened in 2014, is a museum and human rights organization in Atlanta that inspires people to tap their own power to change the world around them. The Center’s iconic exhibitions feature the papers and artifacts of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.; the history of the civil rights movement in the United States; and stories from the struggle for human rights around the world today.
Take a virtual tour of the Center here!
National Civil Rights Museum at Lorraine Hotel
Established in 1991, the National Civil Rights Museum is located at the former Lorraine Motel, where civil rights leader Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. was assassinated on April 4, 1968. Through interactive exhibits, historic collections, dynamic speakers and special events, the museum offers visitors a chance to walk through history and learn more about a tumultuous and inspiring period of change.
Online King Records Access (OKRA)
This searchable database gives you access to thousands of King documents through the year 1968. It is a joint project of the Howard Gotlieb Archival Research Center at Boston University, the Martin Luther King, Jr., Research and Education Institute at Stanford University, and the Robert W. Woodruff Library at Atlanta University Center. Funded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.
White House Correspondence
View digital copies of his correspondence with the White House and President Kennedy.

Learn More

Explore these ebooks to learn more. You will need to sign in with your CMC ID to access these titles.