Skip to main content

Community Resources: Home

CMC Libraries Support our Communities

CMC Librarians are here to help in this difficult time. Whether you are a community member or a small business looking for resources, you can reach out to us with any questions and we will do our best to help.

You can contact us through the chat link at the lower left-hand corner of this page.

Or book an appointment with one of us; we are available from 9-5, M-F 

Local Businesses

Colorado Mountain College is offering no-cost business coaching and consulting services to in-district businesses (see map) in this time of need. Get help and support, from general business principles to website design.

In partnership with local chambers and business incubators, our team is organizing to aid the hundreds of small businesses courageously seeking to reopen or rebuild.

 

Once there, just search for “FREE-ONLINE COURSES” or “COVID” in the Search box (no need to select Campus or Program).

COVID-19 Business Resources

Steamboat Springs Chamber of Commercehttps://www.steamboatchamber.com/covid-19/covid-19-business-resources/
Glenwood Springs Chamber of Commerce https://glenwoodchamber.com/covid-19-business-resources/
Summit County Chamber of Commercehttps://www.summitchamber.org/business-resources
Colorado Small Business Development Association - www.coloradosbdc.org/covid/
Small Business Associationhttps://www.sba.gov/page/coronavirus-covid-19-small-business-guidance-loan-resources
‚Äč
U.S. Senate Committee on Small Business & Entrepreneurship - Small Business Owner's Guide to the CARES Act

Open Access - Business Periodicals
     DOAJ
     OMICS 
     Springer
     Reuters

Open Access - Business Books
   
E-Books Directory
     Internet Archive - National Emergency Library
     Ohio State University Press
     Johns Hopkins University Press *
     University of Nebraska Press *

     
     

*Access provided via 'Project Muse'
     

Community Members

During this challenging time, people have been coming together to provide free and accessible resources for everyone and many libraries are working to create lists of resources to support learning and engagement.

To chat with a CMC librarian, please click the chat window on the lower left.

In the meantime, here is a list of great resources to help keep you and your families engaged in learning.*

FOR EVERYONE:

Museum Virtual Tours - https://www.travelandleisure.com/attractions/museums-galleries/museums-with-virtual-tours 

National Park Virtual Tours - https://totallythebomb.com/heres-33-national-park-tours-you- can-take-virtually-from-the-comfort-of-your-home

Virtual Field Trips - https://docs.google.com/document/d/1SvIdgTx9djKO6SjyvPDsoGlkgE3iExmi3qh2KRRku_w/pre view?pru=AAABcQdyThE*TAUzGs7LtawDZ78q6OpADA

Daily Cincinnati Zoo Livestreams - https://www.facebook.com/cincinnatizoo/?tn-str=k*F

Met Opera Streams - https://operawire.com/metropolitan-opera-to-offer-up-nightly-met- opera-streams/

Learn to Code at Home: https://www.freecodecamp.org/news/coronavirus-academy/

Free Ivy League classes online https://www.freecodecamp.org/news/ivy-league-free-online-courses-a0d7ae675869/

 

FOR KIDS:

Free educational online resources - http://www.amazingeducationalresources.com/

Hands-on Science and STEM Activities https://www.sciencebuddies.org/

Movement and Mindfulness Activities - Go Noodle https://www.gonoodle.com/

Storyline Online – www.storylineonline.net – Stories read aloud by movie stars!

Free Music Lessons - https://www.facebook.com/youcanplaythat/posts/749983915532280

Scholastic Learn at Home - https://classroommagazines.scholastic.com/support/learnathome.html

Doodle with Mo Willems - https://www.facebook.com/events/2544781839094130/

Fun Brain – www.funbrain.com

Into the Book – www.reading.ecb.org

SwitchZoo - Fun learning games with animals - https://switchzoo.com/

National Geographic Kids - https://kids.nationalgeographic.com/

Common Sense Media - This is great for helping to decide what movies, shows, and games are appropriate for your kids to watch. - https://www.commonsensemedia.org/movie-reviews 

Wide Open School - An absolutely amazing wealth of activities online. - https://wideopenschool.org/ 

Dyson Challenge Cards - Science and engineering activities for early elementary through middle school kids (doesn't require a screen to complete!) - www.jamesdysonfoundation.com/resources/challenge-cards.html

* Thanks to the Onondaga County Library System and the Tully Free Library for creating these lists

Johns Hopkins University CSSE

Source: Coronavirus COVID-19 Global Cases by Johns Hopkins CSSE