It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
EBSCO Discovery portal is a gateway to over 60 databases that includes staple collections for nursing and medical research such as CINAHL Complete, Medline (PubMed), and PsycARTICLES. Elsevier journals and thousands of pertinent ebooks.
EBSCO Discovery is the library's search engine that allows you to search most of our online collections of over 60 databases. With precise filtering options and search tools, you can easily find the sources you need, save, and cite them.
Watch these short video tutorials to learn more about using Discovery.
UpToDate offers evidence-based clinical information materials, including 11,000 clinical topics across 25 medical specialties, 175 medical calculators, 6,000 unique drug entries, 1,500 patient information topics, and 33,000 graphics.
Symptom Media collection offers mental health educational videos. All films are produced with a multi-disciplinary team of behavioral health experts consisting of psychiatrist, psychologist, social worker, and a psychiatric nurse practitioner collaborate in all aspects of the development process alongside professional filmmakers.
To locate Nursing and Allied Health test preparation materials, select Career Preparation and Prepare for an Occupation Exam. Preparation materials are included for NCLEX-RN, NCLEX-PN, Nursing assistant and nurse aide certification, EMT and Paramedic Certification, Veterinary Technician Certification, and other exams.
First time users will be required to create a personal account to access this database. Please use the orange account icon above to access the page with additional instructions.
Provides full text for over 1,400 nursing and allied health journals indexed in the CINAHL database, and includes a higher number of records, additional journals, and records dating back to 1937. Includes Evidence-Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and conditions and outline the most effective treatment options.
Books, DVDs, CDs, & More
Evidence-based practice is patient care based on research. It helps medical practitioners to make practical decisions based on the best available evidence. There are two types of sources you would want to look for: systematic reviews and clinical trials.
"A type of research study that tests how well new medical approaches work in people. These studies test new methods of screening, prevention, diagnosis, or treatment of a disease." -PubMed Health
Randomized Control Trials
"A study in which the participants are assigned by chance to separate groups; neither the researchers nor the participants can choose which group." -PubMed Health
Systematic reviews critically assess and review research studies of a particular clinical issue.
"A systematic review is a research study that collects and looks at multiple studies. Researchers use methods that are determined before they begin to frame one or more questions, then find and analyze the studies that relate to that question." -PubMed Health