Skip to main content

Databases by Discipline

Discovery Portal

EBSCO Discovery portal is a gateway to over 50 databases, includes staple databases for nursing and medical research such as CINAHL Compete, Medline(PubMed), Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, and PsycARTICLES, as well as thousands of other pertinent journals and ebooks.

EBSCO Discovery
Online Articles, eBooks, Videos, & More
Search over 50 databases at once  Video Tutorials
All Collections Peer Reviewed Articles eBooks Audiobooks & Music Videos Images
Evidence-Based Practice Evidence-Based Care Sheets
Systematic Reviews Cochrane Database Of Systematic Reviews
Clinical Trials Randomized Controlled Trials

Individual Databases with Specialized Search Interfaces

Prepare for an Exam

Systematic Reviews

Nursing Database

Evidence-Based Practice

Evidence-Based Practice

Evidence-based practice is patient care based on research. It helps medical practitioners to make practical decisions based on the best available evidence. There are two types of sources you would want to look for: systematic reviews and clinical trials.

Primary Sources: 

  • Clinical trials
    "A type of research study that tests how well new medical approaches work in people. These studies test new methods of screening, prevention, diagnosis, or treatment of a disease."  -PubMed Health
  • Randomized Control Trials
    "A study in which the participants are assigned by chance to separate groups; neither the researchers nor the participants can choose which group."  -PubMed Health

Secondary Sources: 

  • Systematic reviews critically assess and review research studies of a particular clinical issue.
    "A systematic review is a research study that collects and looks at multiple studies. Researchers use methods that are determined before they begin to frame one or more questions, then find and analyze the studies that relate to that question."  -PubMed Health